French In America

French News, American Stories

Metamkine | Crossing The Line Festival

leave a comment »

Last Friday, I had the pleasure of experiencing the visual and auditory performance of Metamkine. As is my habit, I often try and come under-prepared for performances such as these. I try to not learn too much about what I am about to experience. This helps me feel what I personally feel, not clouded by reviews and preconceived notions of what I should look for and what the critics say is noteworthy. I don’t mind a trailer, but full previews are out.  I arrived at the FIAF to find that the show was about to begin and that my wife was stuck in a cab 10 minutes away, so I headed in solo, because the guy was giving me a look that said “you should get a seat because….” – I told her I would hold some seats and down I went. As I rode down the escalator, I noticed the beautiful videos of Marie Maillard and was delivered down into the theater ready and open for what was next.

The lights went out. The visuals and sounds entranced the audience into a hallucinogenic rabbit hole experience that pierced my ears, soothed my eyes and had a few people behind me looking like the guy from the Maxell commercial seen here:

The three artists performed live with vintage cinema projectors and other non identifiable (it was very dark, so dark that I never found my wife) pieces equipment positioned around the stage and theater and manged to “play” their instruments through the help of over 50 extension cords (so I was told). They used their hands, bodies and audio/video fragments to create an ambiance of tension and euphoria that took over the theater. Overall the entire experience was extremely interesting and creative and my only gripe was that “performers” where a bit out of view. I would have liked to have seen them more in the work. The visuals and audio where tremendous, but this is after all a “live” show in which people are part of. Perhaps I should have sat in the front row? Did you see the show? Let’s us know what you think in the comments below!

Founded in 1987 and based in Grenoble, Metamkine (known in French as La Cellule d’Intervention Metamkine) is made up of musician Jérôme Noetinger and filmmakers Christophe Auger and Xavier Quérel. The trio’s research into the relationship between image and sound has resulted in works they refer to as live “musico-cinematic” creations. Through the use of mirrors, multiple projectors, a live soundtrack of tape fragments, and ingenious on-stage editing, they produce and direct a new film live—simultaneously a performance and its document. A sensory immersion that must be experienced to be believed, Metamkine is brought to Crossing the Line in cooperation with Anthology Film Archives.

Posted from Jon Cronin’s Stream Of Consciousness

Written by Jon Cronin

September 22, 2009 at 16:22

Leave a Reply

